Child pages
  • HTRC Data Capsule Specifications and Usage Guide

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

Info
titleDetailed tutorial

For step-by-step instructions, follow a tutorial or user guide.

Administering a Capsule

Use the HTRC site to handle administrative tasks for your capsule:

  • Create - a capsule is created, but it is not yet running

  • Start - turn the capsule on in maintenance mode

  • Stop - shutdown a capsule

  • Delete - the capsule is deleted (including its data and settings) 

  • Switch modes - change the capsule from maintenance to secure mode, or vice-versa (see below)

  • See status - view your capsules and their statuses

Maintenance vs. Secure Mode

...

  • In maintenance mode, you are allowed to access the network freely and install whatever software you want. 
  • In secure mode, general network access is restricted, but you can access the HTRC corpus repository, which is otherwise blocked. Any changes you make to the capsule in secure mode will not persist. To save data from your analysis, you'll need to save your results in the secure volume storage on your capsule. This storage option is not visible in maintenance mode. 

Administering a Capsule

Use the HTRC site to handle administrative tasks for your capsule:

  • Create - a capsule is created, but it is not yet running

  • Start - turn the capsule on in maintenance mode

  • Stop - shutdown a capsule

  • Delete - the capsule is deleted (including its data and settings) 
  • Switch modes - change the capsule from maintenance to secure mode, or vice-versa

  • See status - view your capsules and their statuses


Interacting with the Capsule

...